Liver Pate

Hello, again. i have been gone for a long time. I thought it would be a good idea to try out a ton of recipes first and then be more prepared to share them with you all. Today i am sharing a staple in my house…LIVER PATE! Liver Pate is a great way to hide that “livery taste”. Soaking the liver in milk or lemon juice for a few hours will reduce the “livery taste” even more. This is an easy recipe and i always make extra and freeze it. I have a bunch of pictures so follow them from left to right, go down a row, and left from right.

Ingredients:

1 t fresh sage, parsley, rosemary, and thyme (feel free to play around with the herbs you like)

7 garlic cloves

1 medium onion

1 lb chicken livers

4 T butter/ghee

1 1/4  t salt

8 T butter/ghee (cold)

STEPS:

1. saute herbs,onion, garlic, 4 T butter- until soft

2. add liver and cook- don’t over cook them, leave them a little pink

3. (optional) put in sieve and stain out liquid for extra thick pate

4. puree sautéed mix and 8 T of butter cut in cubes (i used my cuisinart)

5. put in mold (i lined a small baking cup with a plastic bag to make it easy to flip it out)

6. refrigerate until hard, and flip out of mold…EAT! with veggies or crackers (recipe coming soon)

~stay gutsy, caroline

blog featured at Real Food 101, Monday Mania, Weekend gourmet blog carnival, made from scratch monday, pennywise platter, barn hop, made by you monday, make your own, sugar free sunday, melt in your mouth monday, real food wednesday, simple lives thursday, homemaking linkup, pity party, domestically divine tuesday, fat tuesday, traditional tuesdays, food and health carnival, tiny tip tuesday, your sunday best, titus 2sday , tuesdays at the table, weekend potluck, slightly indulgent tuesday, crumbs and chaos, pennywise platter thursday, tuesday talent show, anti-procrastination tuesday, teach me tuesday , tempt my tummy tuesday,gluten free Wednesday, whats cooking wednesday, real food wednesday, what i ate wednesday,scratch booking tuesday, frugal ways sustainable days, living green link up tuesdays,whole foods wednesday, simple living wednesday, health 2day wednesdays, women living well wednesdays,wildcrafting wednesdays, wicked awesome Wednesday, kids in the kitchen linkup, the gathering spot, allergy free Wednesdays,the mommy club, works for me wednesday, create and share,current linking party, whatever goes wednesday, sugar and spice, what i whipped up wednesday, look what i made link party, will see it wednesday, inspiring creativitywow me Wednesday , DIY under 5$, uncommonly yours, your girlish whims, one project at a time, whats i the gunny sac link party, nifty thrifty tuesday, tip me tuesday, show me what you got,inspire me monday, frugal tip tuesday, allergy free lunch box love

10 thoughts on “Liver Pate

  1. I’m one of the few people that like liver and this sounds really good. Thank you for sharing your recipe at Your Sunday Best! :)

  2. I must say, I’ve never really been a fan of liver pate…BUT I think you may have tempted me to try it ;) I’m pinning this for when I finally work up the courage to make this :) Seems easy enough! Thanks for linking up with Tiny Tip Tuesday this week!

  3. I’m the only one in my household that loves liver LOL. The rest of the family turns their nose up at it. But, when I have those chicken livers available, I may give this a try and not tell anyone what it is ☺ That would be a great way to try out a new recipe on the rest of the family. Thanks for sharing in our recipe hop this week!

Leave a Reply

